Museum finder

Museum der Kulturen Basel

The Museum der Kulturen Basel is one of the leading ethnographic museums in Europe. It’s world-renowned collection numbers more than 320,000 objects and about 50’000 historic pictures. In order to regularly display and reposition collection pieces, the Museum organizes, in addition to its two permanent exhibitions, a number of special exhibitions each year with a focus on current as well as more general topics that shed light on the variety and diversity of cultural manifestations across the world. Visitors thus get to see the world with different eyes.

This museum greets you in the following languages: D/F/E
Opening 1893

Das Haupthaus mit malerischem Innenhof
Das Haupthaus mit malerischem Innenhof
Blick in die Dauerausstellung «StrohGold»
Blick in die Dauerausstellung «StrohGold»
Grosses in der Dauerausstellung «GROSS»
Grosses in der Dauerausstellung «GROSS»

Current exhibitions

The carnival of Basel

-
Basel Fasnacht (carnival) is a large festival of sounds and dreams, of colour and fantasy, but also of criticism and mockery. It has been evolving over the last 100 years.The exhibition provides an overview of Basel Fasnacht (carnival) in historic and atmospheric rooms: Costumes, masks, musical instruments, historical documents and a reproduction of a typical “carnival”.

A cooperation between the Museum der Kulturen Basel and the association “Basler Fasnachts-Welt”


The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D/F/E
The carnival of Basel

StrawGold

-
Why is a Bavarian dirndl tailored from African waxprint cloths? The exhibition titled StrawGold focuses on cultural appropriation and transformation processes. Items of everyday use, technologies, materials, political ideas as well as religious beliefs spread not only across regions, but across the entire world. In their new settings they are gradually absorbed and creatively woven into new cultural contexts

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D
StrawGold

BIG

-
Big is great! Big things impress us and evoke awe. But what is so fascinating about size? Does big mean the same thing across the world or are there cultural differences? Who sets the measures, how are height, length and width defined? We take a close look at big things and their meanings. Come and judge for yourself. Cultural dimensions of size in focus – the exhibition BIG – Things Interpretations Dimensions.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D
BIG

Thirst for Knowledge meets Collecting Mania

-
Museums face challenging times: what seemed a must for an ethnographic museum in the past – such as a collection of skulls – is now a sensitive issue. In collecting, objects were removed from their original contexts, items made of rare and precious materials such as ivory or gold aroused desires, and exotic weapons were acquired by the score. The exhibition explores the motives for this former collecting mania and poses questions as to the appropriate handling of sensitive objects today.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D
Thirst for Knowledge meets Collecting Mania
  • Folklore and ethnology
    Folklore and ethnology
  • Thematic cultural asset
    Thematic cultural asset

Location of the museum

Münsterplatz 20
4051 Basel

Location/directions

Münsterplatz 20, 4051 Basel By public transport: Take tram No. 2 (from ‘Bahnhof SBB’ or ‘Badischer Bahnhof’) to the ‘Kunstmuseum’ stop, then walk along Rittergasse and across Münsterplatz to the museum entrance at Münsterplatz 20. By car: Take the motorway exit marked ‘Basel City’ or ‘Badischer Bahnhof’. Please follow the parking guidance system and use the multi-story car parks in the centre of Basel. There are no parking facilities at the museum.

Open

Tue to Sun: 10.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m.
Mon: closed
Every first Wed of the month:
10.00 a.m. – 8.00 p.m.

Admission

Adults from age 20 CHF 16.00
Groups of 10 or more CHF 11.00
Young people under the age of 20 CHF 5.00
Trainees under the age of 30 with proof of eligibility CHF 5.00

Contact

Museum der Kulturen Basel
Münsterplatz 20 Postfach
4001 Basel
061 266 56 00 Telephone
061 266 56 05 Fax
info@mkb.ch
http://www.mkb.ch
  • Member of the Swiss Museums Association.
    Member of the Swiss Museums Association.
  • Museum pass: holders of the Swiss museum pass have free admission.
    Museum pass: holders of the Swiss museum pass have free admission.
  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Shop
    Shop
  • Children and family-friendly
    Children and family-friendly
  • Completely wheelchair accessible
    Completely wheelchair accessible
  • Very good accessibility with public transport
    Very good accessibility with public transport

Journée internationale
des musées 2022

Museum der Kulturen Basel

Le Museum der Kulturen Basel est l‘un des plus importants musées ethnographiques d’Europe avec une collection de renommée mondiale. Ses réserves comprennent plus de 340 000 objets et environ 50'000 photographies historiques. Pour en présenter et en repositionner régulièrement une partie, les deux expositions permanentes sont accompagnées, annuellement, de plusieurs expositions temporaires. Avec des thématiques actuelles et quotidiennes, elles mettent en lumière les diverses dimensions culturelles présentes aux quatre coins de la planète. Les visiteuses et visiteurs pourront ainsi porter un autre regard sur le monde.

Ce musée vous accueille dans les langues suivantes: D/F/E
Ouverture 1893

Das Haupthaus mit malerischem Innenhof
Das Haupthaus mit malerischem Innenhof
Blick auf die Station Souvenirs in der Ausstellung «Memory»
Blick auf die Station Souvenirs in der Ausstellung «Memory»
Buddhas in der Ausstellung «Erleuchtet»
Buddhas in der Ausstellung «Erleuchtet»

Current exhibitions

Le carnaval de Bâle

-
Le Carnaval de Bâle est une gigantesque fête des sons et des rêves, des couleurs et de la fantaisie, mais aussi une critique sérieuse et un persiflage. L’exposition montre un aperçu général du Carnaval de Bâle dans des salles historiques à l’atmosphère particulière: costumes, masques, instruments de musique, documents historiques ainsi qu’un typique „Local de carnaval“.

Une coopération entre le Museum der Kulturen Basel et l’association "Basler Fasnachts-Welt"


Les documents de l'exposition sont disponibles dans les langues suivantes: D/F/E
Des visites guidées ont lieu dans les langues suivantes: D/F/E
Le carnaval de Bâle

Memory – Moments du souvenir et de l’oubli

-
Le souvenir et l’oubli sont omniprésents dans la vie. L’exposition révèle de manière ludique les multiples pratiques avec lesquelles les êtres humains se souviennent de certains moments de la vie, de la naissance à la mort, mais aussi en oublient. Guerre et paix, colonialisme et indépendance: les pièces exposées montrent des similitudes et des différences dans la manière dont les événements significatifs dans la société sont transmis oralement, gravés dans la pierre ou passés sous silence.

Les documents de l'exposition sont disponibles dans les langues suivantes: D/F/E
Des visites guidées ont lieu dans les langues suivantes: D
Memory – Moments du souvenir et de l’oubli

Illuminé – Le monde des bouddhas

-
Pourquoi le bouddhisme est-il si populaire? Quelles significations associe-t-on aux notions de karma, de samsara et de nirvana? Et à quoi ressemble la pratique spirituelle? Comment l’attitude bouddhiste du renoncement matériel se conjugue-t-elle avec la commercialisation de cette vision du monde? L’exposition explore ces questions et montre les multiples facettes du bouddhisme. Elle transmet l’enseignement, les formes de représentation et la pratique bouddhiste.

Les documents de l'exposition sont disponibles dans les langues suivantes: D/F/E
Des visites guidées ont lieu dans les langues suivantes: D
Illuminé – Le monde des bouddhas

bestial! Pas de culture sans animaux

-
Pendant longtemps, la relation entre l’homme et l’animal a été considérée comme inégale, la supériorité de l’homme comme un fait. Cette image a changé. L’exposition – qui fait partie d’une coopération entre quatre musées bâlois– montre des aspects de la relation entre les hommes et les animaux.

Les documents de l'exposition sont disponibles dans les langues suivantes: D/F/E
Des visites guidées ont lieu dans les langues suivantes: D
bestial! Pas de culture sans animaux

Fragments: cruches, patchwork, statues puissantes

-
Les collections du Museum der Kulturen Basel contiennent des fragments qui témoignent des pratiques de division et de liaison. Ce sont des fragments de l’histoire, des vestiges de destruction, des objets jadis puissants composés de différentes pièces. L’exposition montre de quelle façon ces objets ont été et sont toujours maniés. Elle met en lumière ce que démonter, réparer, assembler ou même laisser se délabrer signifie. Il s’agit toujours de (r)établir ou de générer un ordre nouveau.

Les documents de l'exposition sont disponibles dans les langues suivantes: D/F/E
Des visites guidées ont lieu dans les langues suivantes: D
Fragments: cruches, patchwork, statues puissantes
  • Folklore et ethnologie
    Folklore et ethnologie
  • Patrimoine culturel thématique
    Patrimoine culturel thématique

Adresse du musée

Münsterplatz 20
4051 Basel

Situation / Plan d'accès

Münsterplatz 20, 4051 Bàle Par les transports publics: Prendre le tramway no 2 (depuis la gare CFF ou la gare Badischer Bahnhof) jusq'à l'ârret "Kunstmuseum", puis continuer à pied par la Rittergasse et traverser la Münsterplatz jusqu'à l'entrée du musée, Münsterplatz 20. En voiture: Sortie „Basel City“ resp. „Badischer Bahnhof“. Suivre les panneaux indiquant les aires de stationnement et utiliser les parkings du centre-ville. Le musée luimême ne dispose pas de places de parc.

Ouvert

Mardi à Dimanche: 10-17 h
Lundi: fermé
Tous les premiers mercredis du mois:
10-20 h

L'exposition «Le carnaval de Bâle est ouverte :
Jeudi à Samedi 13-17 Uhr
Dimanche 11-17 Uhr

Entrée

Entrée adulte à partir de 20 ans CHF 16.00
Groupes à partie de 20 personnes CHF 11.00
Jeunes de moins de 20 ans CHF 5.00
Personnes de moins de 30 ans en formation, sur présentation d'un document CHF 5.00

Contact

Museum der Kulturen Basel
Münsterplatz 20 Postfach
4001 Basel
061 266 56 00 Téléphone
061 266 56 05 Fax
info@mkb.ch
http://www.mkb.ch
  • Membre AMS: le musée fait partie de l’Association des musées suisses.
    Membre AMS: le musée fait partie de l’Association des musées suisses.
  • Passeport Musées: les détenteurs d’un Passeport Musées ont l’entrée gratuite.
    Passeport Musées: les détenteurs d’un Passeport Musées ont l’entrée gratuite.
  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Boutique
    Boutique
  • Adapté aux familles avec enfants
    Adapté aux familles avec enfants
  • Entièrement accessible en fauteuil roulant
    Entièrement accessible en fauteuil roulant
  • Très facilement accessible en transports publics
    Très facilement accessible en transports publics