Museum finder

Château de Prangins - Musée national suisse

The château, a majestic residence built in the 1730s in classical French style, is home to the Swiss National Museum in western Switzerland.

The château became a museum in 1998. With its gardens and interiors restored to their 18th-century state, it makes for a day out that will appeal to lovers of both nature and culture.

The permanent exhibition “Noblesse oblige! Life at a Château in the 18th Century" showcases the historical heritage of Château de Prangins. The reception rooms on the ground floor have been restored to their former splendour, with lavish decoration.

Four exhibitions offer a variety of visits: "Let the Journey begin!", a game exhibition from 4 years old, which highlights the means of transport ; "Discovering the Enlightenment", an open-air exhibition, "Chintz. How a Fabric Conquered the World"; and the magnificent castle vegetable garden.

This museum welcomes you in the following languages: D/F/I/E. Open Tuesday to Sunday from 10:00 to 17:00.

This museum greets you in the following languages: D/F/I/E
Opening 1998

Le Château de Prangins et son jardin potager
Le Château de Prangins et son jardin potager
La salle à manger de l'exposition
La salle à manger de l'exposition "Noblesse oblige!

Current exhibitions

Discovering the Enlightenment

-
Accessible free of charge and at all times*, this cultural walk around the site locates the château in the context of the estate, telling its story in the places where it happened. Some twenty silhouettes representing individuals linked to Château de Prangins – from Voltaire, Madame de Staël and Joseph Bonaparte to an anonymous servant fetching water from the fountain – act as waypoints for a charming stroll through the grounds.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D/F/I/E
Discovering the Enlightenment

The Kitchen Garden

-
Permanent open air exhibition, the kitchen garden of the Château de Prangins is the largest historical kitchen garden in Switzerland. With its selection of unusual vegetables, fruits and flowers from another time, it is home to more than 200 ancient regional varieties and focuses, like the museum, on the 18th century, the Age of Enlightenment during which travel and science bring many new varieties to its precincts.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/I/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D/F/I/E
The Kitchen Garden

Let the journey begin! A fun exhibition for families

-
For the first time in Switzerland, a museum is launching a permanent exhibition in the form of a role play specially designed for very young visitors, with two levels to choose from in four languages (French, English, German, Italian): one for children aged 4 to 10 and the other for ages 11 and above. The exhibition puts the visitor centre stage to create an immersive experience that is different each time!

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/I/E
Let the journey begin! A fun exhibition for families

Chintz. How a Fabric Conquered the World

-


The new permanent exhibition Chintz. How a Fabric Conquered the World, interweaves local and global history and considers Switzerland’s links to the wider world. It sheds light on the involvement of many Swiss people in key chapters of the modern period, including industrialisation, the triangular trade, colonisation and slavery.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/I/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D/F/E
Chintz. How a Fabric Conquered the World

Noblesse Oblige! Life at a Château in the 18th Century

-
The permanent exhibition “Noblesse Oblige! Life at a Château in the Eighteenth Century” is an immersive museum experience enabling visitors to share in the day-to-day life of a noble family in the Vaud region during the Enlightenment. The former reception rooms of Château de Prangins have been returned to their former splendour and now form the backdrop for the exhibition. Boiseries, textiles and false-marble decorations provide the perfect surroundings for some 600 objects from the era.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/I/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D/F/E
Noblesse Oblige! Life at a Château in the 18th Century
  • History
    History
  • Thematic cultural asset
    Thematic cultural asset

Location of the museum

Av. Général Guiguer 3
1197 Prangins

Location/directions

Bus TPN bus No 805 or 811 from Nyon railway station (journey time around 10 minutes). Nearest stops: ‘Prangins, Musée national’ or ‘Prangins, Les Abériaux’. | Train Stop Nyon. Take advantage of the RailAway CFF discount (20% off public transport and museum entry) www.cff.ch/prangins | On foot Around 25 minutes’ walk from Nyon station. Follow the pedestrian signposts along the railway line in the direction of Lausanne. | Boat CGN boat to the Nyon jetty, then 20 minutes on foot along the rue de Rive and the route Suisse. |Car Motorway A1: take the Nyon exit (from Geneva), or the Gland exit (from Lausanne), then follow the signposts. Free parking is available along the ‘Route Suisse’, and the château is a pleasant 5-minute walk away, through the Abériaux meadow.

Open

Tuesday - Sunday 10:00 - 17:00
Open on public holidays, except 25 Dec, 1 Jan

Admission

Adults
CHF 10

Senior citizens (AVS), disability/unemployment benefit holders (AI, AC), students, members of the armed forces
CHF 8

Children until the age of 16
Free

Contact

Château de Prangins - Musée national suisse
Av. Général Guiguer 3
1197 Prangins
022 994 88 90 Telephone (musée)
info.prangins@museenational.ch
http://www.chateaudeprangins.ch
  • Member of the Swiss Museums Association.
    Member of the Swiss Museums Association.
  • Museum pass: holders of the Swiss museum pass have free admission.
    Museum pass: holders of the Swiss museum pass have free admission.
  • Parking
    Parking
  • Cafeteria
    Cafeteria
  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Shop
    Shop
  • Extremely children and family-friendly
    Extremely children and family-friendly
  • Partially wheelchair accessible
    Partially wheelchair accessible
  • Very good accessibility with public transport
    Very good accessibility with public transport

Journée internationale
des musées 2023

Château de Prangins - Musée national suisse

Le siège romand du Musée national suisse a pour cadre une majestueuse demeure des années 1730. Après avoir été seigneurie, demeure princière, école et habitation, le château est devenu musée en 1998. Avec son Potager qui abrite plus de 200 variétés anciennes de fruits et légumes et ses intérieurs du 18e siècle, il constitue un but d’excursion qui enchante les amateurs de nature et de culture.
L’exposition «Noblesse oblige! La vie de château au 18e siècle» met en valeur le patrimoine historique du château.

Quatre expositions proposent des visites variées: «Prêts à partir?», une expo jeu dès 4 ans, qui met en lumière les moyens de transport ; "Indiennes:un tissu à la conquête du monde", «La Promenade des Lumières», exposition à ciel ouvert, et le Potager du château.

Ouverture du mardi au dimanche de 10:00 à 17:00.

Ce musée vous accueille dans les langues suivantes: D/F/I/E
Ouverture 1998

Le Château de Prangins et son jardin potager
Le Château de Prangins et son jardin potager
La salle à manger de l'exposition
La salle à manger de l'exposition "Noblesse oblige!

Current exhibitions

Promenade des Lumières

-
Pour inscrire le château dans son territoire, un sentier-découverte – accessible en tout temps* et gratuitement – entoure le bâtiment : l’histoire des lieux est ainsi racontée in situ. Une vingtaine de silhouettes, représentant des personnages qui ont un lien avec le lieu – comme Voltaire, Madame de Staël, Joseph Bonaparte ou encore une servante anonyme qui va chercher l’eau à la fontaine –, invitent le visiteur à la flânerie et à la promenade.

Les documents de l'exposition sont disponibles dans les langues suivantes: D/F/E
Des visites guidées ont lieu dans les langues suivantes: D/F/I/E
Promenade des Lumières

Le Potager

-
Exposition permanente à ciel ouvert, le potager du Château de Prangins est le plus grand jardin potager historique de Suisse. Avec son assortiment de curieux légumes, fruits et fleurs d’un autre temps, il dévoile plus de 200 anciennes espèces et variétés régionales et s’épanouit, à l’image du musée, autour du 18e siècle, temps des Lumières où les voyages et les sciences apportent des nouveautés végétales dans les carreaux.

Les documents de l'exposition sont disponibles dans les langues suivantes: D/F/I/E
Des visites guidées ont lieu dans les langues suivantes: D/F/I/E
Le Potager

Prêts à partir? Expo jeu pour familles

-
Pour la première fois en Suisse, un musée propose une exposition permanente sous la forme d'un jeu de rôle spécialement créé pour le très jeune public; deux niveaux sont à choix en quatre langues (F/D/IT/E): l'un pour les enfants de 4 à 10 ans et le deuxième à partir de 11 ans. L'exposition met le visiteur au cœur de la démarche. Le résultat est une expérience immersive à chaque fois différente!

Les documents de l'exposition sont disponibles dans les langues suivantes: D/F/I/E
Prêts à partir? Expo jeu pour familles

Indiennes. Un tissu à la conquête du monde

-


Avec la nouvelle exposition permanente Indiennes. Un tissu à la conquête du monde, le Château de Prangins croise histoire locale et globale, et met la Suisse en relation avec le monde au travers d’un voyage sur quatre continents. En suivant la trajectoire des tissus de coton imprimés, l’exposition révèle l’implication de nombreux Suisses dans des chapitres clés de la période moderne, tels que l’industrialisation, le commerce triangulaire, la colonisation et l’esclavage.


Les documents de l'exposition sont disponibles dans les langues suivantes: D/F/I/E
Des visites guidées ont lieu dans les langues suivantes: D/F/E
Indiennes. Un tissu à la conquête du monde

Noblesse oblige! La vie de château au 18e siècle

-
L’exposition permanente «Noblesse oblige! La vie de château au 18e siècle» invite les visiteurs à pénétrer dans le quotidien d’une famille noble du Pays de Vaud au siècle des Lumières. Les anciennes salles de réception du Château de Prangins ont retrouvé leur lustre d’autrefois et forment le décor de l’exposition. Boiseries aux couleurs d’origine, textiles aux motifs chatoyants et décors de faux-marbre servent d’écrin à quelque 600 objets d’époque.


Les documents de l'exposition sont disponibles dans les langues suivantes: D/F/I/E
Des visites guidées ont lieu dans les langues suivantes: D/F/E
Noblesse oblige! La vie de château au 18e siècle
  • Histoire
    Histoire
  • Patrimoine culturel thématique
    Patrimoine culturel thématique

Adresse du musée

Av. Général Guiguer 3
1197 Prangins

Situation / Plan d'accès

Bus TPN 805 ou 811 depuis la gare CFF de Nyon (environ 10 minutes de trajet). Descendre à «Prangins, Musée national», ou à «Prangins, Les Abériaux». | Train Arrêt Nyon. Profitez de la réduction RailAway CFF (20 % de réduction sur les transports publics et l'entrée au musée). | À pied Environ 25 min. depuis la gare de Nyon. Suivre la voie ferrée en direction de Lausanne et les indications pédestres. | Bateau Bateau CGN jusqu’au débarcadère de Nyon, puis 20 minutes à pied en suivant la route Suisse. | Voiture Autoroute A1: depuis Genève sortie Nyon, depuis Lausanne sortie Gland, ensuite suivre la signalisation routière. Parking gratuit à disposition le long de la Route suisse, agréable promenade de 5 minutes pour se rendre au château depuis le parking en passant par la prairie des Abériaux. Une place de dépose est à disposition des bus, à l’entrée proche de la route du Clos.

Ouvert

Mardi - Dimanche 10:00 - 17:00
Ouvert les jours fériés, sauf 25 déc, 1er jan

Entrée

Adultes
10 CHF

AVS, AI, AC, étudiants, militaires
8 CHF

Enfants (jusqu’à 16 ans)
gratuit

Contact

Château de Prangins - Musée national suisse
Av. Général Guiguer 3
1197 Prangins
022 994 88 90 Téléphone (musée)
info.prangins@museenational.ch
http://www.chateaudeprangins.ch
  • Membre AMS: le musée fait partie de l’Association des musées suisses.
    Membre AMS: le musée fait partie de l’Association des musées suisses.
  • Passeport Musées: les détenteurs d’un Passeport Musées ont l’entrée gratuite.
    Passeport Musées: les détenteurs d’un Passeport Musées ont l’entrée gratuite.
  • Possibilités de stationnement
    Possibilités de stationnement
  • Cafétéria
    Cafétéria
  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Boutique
    Boutique
  • Idéal pour les familles avec enfants
    Idéal pour les familles avec enfants
  • Partiellement accessible en fauteuil roulant
    Partiellement accessible en fauteuil roulant
  • Très facilement accessible en transports publics
    Très facilement accessible en transports publics