Museum finder

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich

The Museum für Gestaltung Zürich is the leading Swiss museum for design and visual communication. Since its foundation in 1875, the museum has included what has taken effect as design. Its internationally acclaimed collection comprises over half a million objects from the history of design. The museum reaches a broad national and international audience, at its two sites in Zurich and through its touring exhibitions. As part of Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK), the Museum für Gestaltung Zürich is actively involved in research and teaching and produces its own publications on a regular basis.

This museum greets you in the following languages: D/F/E
Opening 1875

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Toni-Areal, photo: Betty Fleck
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Toni-Areal, photo: Betty Fleck
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Toni-Areal, photo: Betty Fleck
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Toni-Areal, photo: Betty Fleck
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Toni-Areal
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Toni-Areal

Current exhibitions

Design Laboratory: Materials and Technology

-
Ceramics dripping from a 3D printer? Clothing that helps one get up? Bacteria instead of leather for a shoe? What sounds like science fiction is already within reach. Not only in the laboratory, but also in design, material issues are more relevant today than ever due to digitization and the quest for greater sustainability. To this end, designers are increasingly working in teams with scientists from the fields of biotechnology and materials technology.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D
Design Laboratory: Materials and Technology

Knowledge in Images – Information Design today

-
Never has so much information been exchanged as today. Whether for visualizing big data, publishing journalistic findings, spatial orientation, or as material promoting effective learning and teaching—information design explains the most diverse contents within the shortest time through combining much visual material with few words. For images have the power to simplify and illustrate complex facts.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D
Knowledge in Images – Information Design today

Énergie animale

-
Designers have always used animal materials and forms to create artistic worlds of images and objects. The exhibition explores animals on the human body, in living areas, and on the plate and addresses current themes like veganism.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D/F/E
Énergie animale

Next exhibition(s)

It's Not Complicated

-

More

The precise solutions developed by the Zurich design agency Norm are characterized by strict design rules like grids, proportions, and modularity. Their exhibition examines the most fundamental elements and laws of graphic design.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D/F/E
It's Not Complicated

Switzerland in World Format

-

More

One special feature of the Swiss poster is the "world format" (128 × 90.5 cm), which established itself as the standard format only in Switzerland. The 80 posters on display invite visitors to saunter through the history of Swiss posters.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D/F/E
Switzerland in World Format

Lee Miller – A Photographer Between War and Glamor

-

More

Elizabeth "Lee" Miller was an outstanding photographer and a strong, modern woman. Miller did not bother with conventions, neither privately nor professionally, and went her own way as an artist, portrait photographer, and war reporter.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/F/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D/F/E
Lee Miller – A Photographer Between War and Glamor

Le Corbusier and Zürich

-

More

The Museum für Gestaltung Zürich is dedicating its second exhibition at the Pavillon Le Corbusier to the relationship between the Swiss architect of the century and the city of Zurich – the most important platform for his international reputation.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/I/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D/I/E
Le Corbusier and Zürich

Wild Thing – Swiss Fashion Scene

-

More

Alongside the renowned textile industry, a lively fashion scene is flourishing in Switzerland, testing its potential far away from the fashion hubs. The exhibition juxtaposes its designs with those of influential labels from earlier decades.

The exhibition is documented in the following languages: D/I/E
Guided tours are offered in the following languages: D/I/E
Wild Thing – Swiss Fashion Scene
  • Art
    Art

Location of the museum

Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 96
8005 Zürich

Location/directions

Toni-Areal Public transport: Tram 4, "Toni-Areal" Private vehicles: Limited fee-based parking including spaces for persons with disabilities is available. Access to the multi-storey car park at the Toni-Areal is via Förrlibuckstrasse. Also located close-by is the multi-storey car park P-West. Bicycle parking is available around the building.

Open

Exhibitions: Tuesday–Sunday 10am–5pm, Wednesday 10am–8pm
Tours of the collection archive: Tuesday–Sunday at noon

Contact

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal
Postfach
8031 Zürich
043 446 67 67 Telephone
welcome@museum-gestaltung.ch
http://www.museum-gestaltung.ch
  • Member of the Swiss Museums Association.
    Member of the Swiss Museums Association.
  • Museum pass: holders of the Swiss museum pass have free admission.
    Museum pass: holders of the Swiss museum pass have free admission.
  • Parking
    Parking
  • Cafeteria
    Cafeteria
  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Shop
    Shop
  • Very children and family-friendly
    Very children and family-friendly
  • Completely wheelchair accessible
    Completely wheelchair accessible
  • Very good accessibility with public transport
    Very good accessibility with public transport

Museumssuche

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich

Das Museum für Gestaltung Zürich ist das führende Museum für Design und visuelle Kommunikation der Schweiz. Seit seiner Gründung 1875 nimmt es auf, was als «Gestaltung» wirksam ist und erzählt vom Umgang mit gestalteten Dingen und Bildern, von Gestalterpersönlichkeiten oder von Designgattungen, die für unseren visuellen Alltag prägend sind. Neben seinem Stammhaus an der Ausstellungsstrasse bespielt das Museum mitten im dynamischen Trendquartier Zürich-West seinen zweiten Standort, das Toni-Areal. Mit wechselnden Ausstellungen schlägt es auf dem Campus eine Brücke zur Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, zeigt experimentierfreudige Projekte und bezieht Stellung zu aktuellen Debatten im Design. Zudem befindet sich im Toni-Areal die Sammlung des Museums mit über 500 000 Objekten. An geführten Rundgängen kann ein Blick in dieses eindrückliche Archiv geworfen werden.
Entdecken Sie auch das Museum für Gestaltung Zürich an der Ausstellungsstrasse.

Dieses Museum empfängt Sie in folgenden Sprachen: D/F/E
Eröffnungsjahr 1875

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Toni-Areal, Foto: Betty Fleck
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Toni-Areal, Foto: Betty Fleck
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Toni-Areal, Foto: Betty Fleck
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Toni-Areal, Foto: Betty Fleck
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Toni-Areal
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Toni-Areal

Aktuelle Ausstellung(en)

Designlabor: Material und Technik

-
Keramik, die aus dem 3D-Drucker tropft? Kleidung, die beim Aufstehen hilft? Bakterien statt Leder für einen Schuh? Was sich nach Science-Fiction anhört, ist bereits zum Greifen nah. Nicht nur im Labor, auch in der Gestaltung sind Materialfragen durch die Digitalisierung und das Bestreben nach grösserer Nachhaltigkeit heute aktueller denn je. Designer arbeiten dazu immer häufiger in Teams mit Wissenschaftlern aus der Bio- oder Materialtechnologie zusammen.

Die Ausstellung ist in folgenden Sprachen dokumentiert: D/F/E
Führungen finden in folgenden Sprachen statt: D
Designlabor: Material und Technik

Wissen in Bildern – Informationsdesign heute

-
Der Austausch von Informationen war noch nie grösser als heute. Ob zur Visualisierung von Big Data, Veröffentlichung journalistischer Erkenntnisse, zur räumlichen Orientierung oder als Material für effektives Lernen und Lehren – Informationsdesign erklärt unterschiedlichste Inhalte innert kürzester Zeit und kombiniert dazu viel Bild mit wenig Wort. Denn Bilder haben die Kraft, komplexe Sachverhalte zu vereinfachen und zu veranschaulichen.

Die Ausstellung ist in folgenden Sprachen dokumentiert: D/F/E
Führungen finden in folgenden Sprachen statt: D
Wissen in Bildern – Informationsdesign heute

Fotografik: Klein, Ifert, Zamecznik

-
Lichtmalerei, Fotogramm, Fotomontage – die Suche nach einer zeitgemässen visuellen Sprache für die Nachkriegszeit beflügelt Künstler und Gestalter zum fotografischen Experiment. Massgeblich geprägt vom Bauhaus-Erbe sowie der zeitgenössischen gestischen Abstraktion und Kinetik kreiert William Klein ab 1950 Fotogramme, Gérard Ifert macht seine ersten Bewegungsstudien und Wojciech Zamecznik erprobt wenig später die Lichtmalerei.

Die Ausstellung ist in folgenden Sprachen dokumentiert: D/F/E
Führungen finden in folgenden Sprachen statt: D
Fotografik: Klein, Ifert, Zamecznik

Ankündigung

Énergie animale

-

Mehr

Gestalterinnen und Gestalter setzen seit jeher tierische Materialien und Formen in kunstvolle Bild- und Objektwelten um. Die Ausstellung erkundet Tiere am Körper, im Wohnbereich sowie auf dem Teller und greift aktuelle Themen wie den Veganismus auf.

Die Ausstellung ist in folgenden Sprachen dokumentiert: D/F/E
Führungen finden in folgenden Sprachen statt: D/F/E
Énergie animale

Norm – It's not complicated

-

Mehr

Gestalterische Regelwerke wie Raster, Proportionen und Modularität prägen die präzisen Lösungen des Zürcher Grafikbüros Norm. In der Ausstellung präsentiert es eine Auseinandersetzung mit den grundlegendsten Elementen und Gesetzmässigkeiten der Grafik.

Die Ausstellung ist in folgenden Sprachen dokumentiert: D/F/E
Führungen finden in folgenden Sprachen statt: D/F/E
Norm – It's not complicated

Die Schweiz im Weltformat

-

Mehr

Eine Besonderheit des Schweizer Plakats ist sein «Weltformat» (128 × 90,5 cm), das sich nur hierzulande als Standardformat durchsetzen konnte. Die Ausstellung lädt mit rund 80 Plakaten auf einen Spaziergang durch die helvetische Plakatgeschichte ein.

Die Ausstellung ist in folgenden Sprachen dokumentiert: D/F/E
Führungen finden in folgenden Sprachen statt: D/F/E
Die Schweiz im Weltformat

Lee Miller – Fotografin zwischen Krieg und Glamour

-

Mehr

Elizabeth «Lee» Miller war eine herausragende Fotografin und eine starke, moderne Frau. Weder privat noch professionell hielt sich Miller mit Konventionen auf und ging als Künstlerin, Porträtfotografin und Kriegsreporterin ihren eigenen Weg.

Die Ausstellung ist in folgenden Sprachen dokumentiert: D/F/E
Führungen finden in folgenden Sprachen statt: D/F/E
Lee Miller – Fotografin zwischen Krieg und Glamour

Le Corbusier und Zürich

-

Mehr

Seine zweite Ausstellung im Pavillon Le Corbusier widmet das Museum für Gestaltung Zürich der Beziehung des Schweizer Jahrhundertarchitekten zur Stadt Zürich, die zwischen 1915 und 1965 zur wichtigsten Plattform seiner internationalen Ausstrahlung wurde.

Die Ausstellung ist in folgenden Sprachen dokumentiert: D/I/E
Führungen finden in folgenden Sprachen statt: D/I/E
Le Corbusier und Zürich

Wild Thing – Modeszene Schweiz

-

Mehr

Neben der renommierten Textilindustrie blüht in der Schweiz eine lebendige Modeszene, die fernab der Modezentren ihr Potenzial erprobt. Die Ausstellung stellt ihre Entwürfe den Looks prägender Labels aus früheren Jahrzehnten gegenüber.

Die Ausstellung ist in folgenden Sprachen dokumentiert: D/I/E
Führungen finden in folgenden Sprachen statt: D/I/E
Wild Thing – Modeszene Schweiz
  • Kunst
    Kunst

Museumsstandort

Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 96
8005 Zürich

Lage/Anreise

Standort Toni-Areal: Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel: Tram 4, Haltestelle "Toni-Areal" Private Fahrzeuge: Es steht eine begrenzte Anzahl an kostenpflichtigen Parkplätzen sowie Behindertenparkplätzen zur Verfügung. Die Einfahrt ins Parkhaus im Toni-Areal erfolgt über die Förrlibuckstrasse. Weitere Parkplätze in der Nähe bietet das Parkhaus P-West. Fahrradabstellplätze sind rund um das Gebäude vorhanden.

Geöffnet

Ausstellungen: Di-So 10-17 Uhr, Mi 10-20 Uhr
Führungen im Sammlungsarchiv (mit Reservation): Di-So 12-13 Uhr

Kontakt

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal
Postfach
8031 Zürich
043 446 67 67 Telefon
welcome@museum-gestaltung.ch
http://www.museum-gestaltung.ch
  • Mitglied VMS: Das Museum ist Mitglied beim Verband der Museen der Schweiz.
    Mitglied VMS: Das Museum ist Mitglied beim Verband der Museen der Schweiz.
  • Museumspass: Besitzer des Schweizer Museumspasses haben freien Eintritt.
    Museumspass: Besitzer des Schweizer Museumspasses haben freien Eintritt.
  • Parkmöglichkeiten
    Parkmöglichkeiten
  • Cafeteria
    Cafeteria
  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Shop
    Shop
  • Sehr Kinder- und Familienfreundlich
    Sehr Kinder- und Familienfreundlich
  • Vollständig rollstuhlgängig
    Vollständig rollstuhlgängig
  • Sehr gut erreichbar mit ÖV
    Sehr gut erreichbar mit ÖV